Faculty Spotlight

José Antonio Ocampo Honored by IEA

Posted Dec 14 2023
José Antonio Ocampo

José Antonio Ocampo, a professor of practice in international and public affairs who codirects SIPA’s concentration in Economic and Political Development, has been named as a 2024 Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow by the International Economic Association.

The award, which was formally presented on December 13 at the IEA World Congress, honors economists “who have made a significant contribution to [the field], especially in the area of international economic development, and who have an outstanding record of research and, ideally, some influence on policymaking.”

In addition to his work at SIPA, Ocampo served as minister of finance for his home country of Colombia from August 2022 to April 2023 and sat on the board of Colombia’s central bank from mid-2017 to January 2020. He held several other high-profile positions at the United Nations and in Colombia before joining SIPA’s faculty in 2007.

Ocampo said he was deeply honored to be so recognized, tweeting “Me siento produndamente honrado.”

First given in 2018, the Schumpeter-Haberler award is conferred upon as many as six honorees every three years. The initial class of distinguished fellows six years ago included SIPA faculty members Guillermo Calvo (now emeritus) and Joseph Stiglitz. One of the five other recipients for 2024 is Mari Pangestu of the World Bank, an adjunct senior research scholar at SIPA who served as George Ball Adjunct Professor in fall 2015.