Global Leadership Awards
20th Annual GALA

Tuesday, May 11, 2021
7:00 pm to 8:00 pm EDT

A Virtual Celebration

Please join us on May 11, 2021 for Columbia SIPA’s Global Leadership Awards Gala, as we recognize remarkable leaders and bring together our diverse, global community of alumni, friends, faculty, and students. During a year that has presented incredible challenges, we look forward to honoring those individuals who have helped to reunite the world through their outstanding accomplishments. All proceeds raised from this much-anticipated event will provide critical financial aid for SIPA students.

Our 2021 Gala will be a virtual celebration that will honor three exceptional honorees. Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund, and Vartan Gregorian, President of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, will each receive SIPA’s Global Leadership Award for their extraordinary contributions to the public good. Lang Lang, acclaimed international pianist, will receive SIPA’s inaugural Global Inspirational Award for his outstanding achievements as a cultural ambassador. Guests will be treated to an inspiring program that will include greetings from notable public figures and a conversation with our Global Leadership awardees, as well as an uplifting musical performance by Lang Lang.

We thank all of you who have supported our Gala efforts in years past, and we are excited to welcome many more alumni and friends from around the world with this year’s virtual format. As SIPA students continue to experience unexpected and very significant financial strains, the need to support them has grown only greater. All Gala contributions will directly fund efforts to help SIPA students during this unprecedented time. To learn more about sponsorship opportunities, please see below or contact SIPA's Development office at

Further announcements and details about this year’s virtual Gala will be forthcoming.



Kristalina Georgieva

Managing Director, International Monetary Fund
Global Leadership Award


Vartan Gregorian

President, Carnegie Corporation of New York
Global Leadership Award



Lang Lang

Internationally Renowned Pianist
Global Inspiration Award


Past Honorees

Past Honorees



Learn more



Learn more



Learn more



Learn more



Learn more

Patron Ticket

Supporter Ticket

Recent Alumni Ticket (2010-2020)

All sponsorships and tickets are 100% tax deductible. If you are interested in sponsorship or purchasing a ticket, please email


SIPA Office of Alumni and Development

For more information please contact: 
Emily Keneston | 212-851-9802 |  Email: